Released: July 5th 2017 | REWIGLP102X

Bright Phoebus, Lal and Mike Waterson’s 1972 folk-noir masterpiece, has long been recognised as one of British music's legendary lost records. Following the parting of ways of The Watersons and freed from the strictures of folk orthodoxy, Lal and Mike Waterson’s love of words allowed them to serve the needs of their songs in ways that weren’t possible when singing already written songs.
Featuring performances from Lal, Mike and Norma Waterson, Martin Carthy, Richard Thompson, Ashley Hutchings, Dave Mattacks, Tim Hart and Maddy Prior, amongst others, the album is now recognised as a forward-thinking benchmark for the genre. Fans include Arcade Fire, Stephen Malkmus, Billy Bragg, Jarvis Cocker, Richard Hawley – the latter two performed the record themselves in 2013 on the Bright Phoebus Revisited tour.
Domino are pleased to reissue Bright Phoebus – Songs By Lal And Mike Waterson on 4th August, this will be the first time since its release the album will be widely available. Additionally under the supervision of David Suff (Topic/ Fledg'ling) and Marry Waterson (daughter of Lal), the album has been remastered from the original tapes. 

Deluxe LP
Gatefold sleeve
Bonus LP featuring 11 demo recordings from 1971
8 page large format booklet featuring photos and essay by Pete Paphides

  1. Side 1
  2. Rubber Band
  3. The Scarecrow
  4. Fine Horseman
  5. Winifer Odd
  6. Danny Rose
  7. Child Among The Weeds
  8. Side 2
  9. Magical Man
  10. Never The Same
  11. To Make You Stay
  12. Shady Lady
  13. Red Wine Promises
  14. Bright Phoebus
  15. LP2 – The 1971 Demos
  16. Side 1
  17. Danny Rose
  18. Fine Horseman
  19. Winifer Odd
  20. Child Among The Weeds
  21. Magical Man
  22. Bright Phoebus
  23. Side 2
  24. Red Wine Promises
  25. Song For Thirza
  26. The Scarecrow
  27. Never The Same
  28. One Of Those Days
  29. Jack Frost